Day 1 & 2 of SEP

So I’m starting on my posts for exchange, starting from when I flew off.

Day 1:
Checked in my baggage. The person at the counter asked if it was my first time to Sweden, and I said no. So she asked how long am I staying in Sweden for, and I replied 6 months. She then asked me for my residence card, which I do not have. I then realised that since my first time was more than 10 years ago (2004) it didn’t really count- I only need my residence permit letter from the Swedish Embassy. Phew. Almost thought I couldn’t get in. Anyway, said my last goodbyes at Changi Airport T1 to my friends and family who came down (touched) but everything was a little rushed so I didn’t really had time to feel much. It was only when I was on the plane- then I realised: Oh shucks. Its happening. Omg.

Anyway, went with 2 other Singaporeans- John and Isa. They are really nice people!! So I took Finnair; one-way ticket to Stockholm. It was about 12 hours flight to Helsinki, then waiting time of ~5hours, then transit flight to Stockholm 1 hour. Slept through the long flight, while managing to watch The Lego Movie onboard (pretty nice).

img_2199
The Finnair flight screen (A350)
ANYWAY!!! It snowed in Helsinki! But we couldn’t touch it cause we were in the transit area 😦

img_2206
Flight to Stockholm
When we finally reached Stockholm, and went out to the open air- we were so happy for 15minutes. Till it began to freeze. We begin to wonder where our bus was… BUT FINALLY IT CAME HOHOHO!

 

img_2216
Uppsala City Hostel
Our 1 night “hotel” (SGD119 in total exclusive of bed linings- we had to rent them for ~SGD20)

 

img_2212
Didn’t really take lots of photos but this was near Uppsala Central station.
Day 2: Woke up and went to the university’s reception. It’s so pretty but oh my god, I dragged my luggage there and its damn tiring. Workout for the week- DONE. Settled admin stuff- getting the SIM card, bus card, etc.

and… finally! reached my room.

img_2227
My room @ Flögsta~
my corridor is pretty quiet though and i felt quite depressed. dont know if its because its the first day or what? 😦 it feels pretty quiet now too though. Anyway gonna head out to IKEA for some bed sheets later. My previous room mate left quite a few stuff- router, lan cable, pillows, blankets, comforter, cleaning stuff, lots of plastic bags. OH AND I AM STILL FREAKING COLD IN my own room. Why is the heater not working….

Went out to join one of my friends’ buddy groups and went to a nation(forgot what was the name) to get some drinks. The nations’ places are really small!!! Like some secret hideout or something. But, perhaps, pubs aren’t my type of places- haha. Falcon is a popular choice of beer apparently (maybe cuz its cheaper, 28SEK=SGD5 for a cup of beer)  

I haven’t unpacked my stuff yet- but I hope I’ll feel better soon!! 🙂  Once I settle down. I was feeling depressed the moment I entered my Flogsta room- no idea why. Alright gonna try out the cheap action camera now hahaha.

PS: I lost my scarf on day 1, and my gloves on day 2. Good job.

 

Leave a Reply

